Enoteca Vespaio’s Sunday Brunch

Today, my husband and I met up one of my old college roommates for Sunday brunch.  Alice and I had not seen each other since college…so that would be 5 years ago? 6? I honestly can’t remember.  Anyway, it was long overdue.

Since Alice is no longer living in Austin, I wanted to pick an “Austin-y” place to eat.  I suggested South Congress Cafe, which was a TERRIBLE idea.  No, I’m not saying South Congress Cafe is a terrible place.  We didn’t even get to eat there.  I got there around 11:15 am, pushed through the huge crowd of hungry people waiting out front, and asked the hostess how long the wait would be for a table for 3.  ONE AND A HALF HOURS.  Yikes!

We ended up going down the block to Enoteca Vespaio.  I had never heard of this place, but according to Yelp, it was worthy of 4 stars.  We went in, I was relieved to see that it was busy (a sign that it had to be decent, right?), and was extra relieved to hear that they just happened to have an empty table for 3.  We walked past the delicious dessert display, had our orders taken promptly, and didn’t wait long for food.

Alice ordered the omelet of the day.  I forget what that was, but she liked it.  My husband got the poached eggs with sauteed spinach and roasted tomato.  I ordered the French toast and coffee.  I thought everything was reasonably priced…$9-16.

Unfortunately, I didn’t snap any pictures.  I was too busy chatting and stuffing my face.  I will definitely go back here and try more on the menu.  I hear the adjoining restaurant Vespaio is really good, too.

Leave a Reply

